Don’t Awaken Love

Image

One of my favorite books in the bible is The Song of Solomon. This book isn’t just a story or rules – even though it is a story and has a message. It is just about pure love. A love story between two people who have to hid their love for each other. About their fleshly desires and longing for each other. Also remain true to each other and God. Rare truth. This book (to me) has to be the most real out of all the books. You understand it more than the rest of the bible in my own opinion.
The main voice in this book is a females (shocking). Also very poetic. Truly beautiful and a little hard to read sometimes – trying to understand the metaphors. A women is taken out of her own free will to wed King Solomon. She desires another though.

1:4 Draw me after you; let us run. The king has brought me into his chambers.

During the book Solomon (who has more than one wife) compliants her – showers her with gifts that many women would want. She wants her love. Her only love. No gift or charming words will make her change her heart. By the way Solomon is described to be quite the looker as well. Nothing though. She desired one man. When the king was away her beloved when seek in. 

12 While the king was on his couch,
    my nard gave forth its fragrance.
13 My beloved is to me a sachet of myrrh
    that lies between my breasts.

As you can tell it is also very sexual. Seems a little awkward but, more beautiful . Godly and pure love is expected to be embraced. Sex is a gift of God. Some either forget it or the abuse it. Even though she was forced to the king she remained true to her beloved. She wants no one else – tells the other brides that they shouldn’t just go seeking love in anyone.

 6 His left hand is under my head,
    and his right hand embraces me!
7 I adjure you,[c] O daughters of Jerusalem,
    by the gazelles or the does of the field,
that you not stir up or awaken love
    until it pleases.

They show and tell us that God has given us this amazing gift of love. Don’t abuse it! Also don’t neglect it! Which I have done both. I try to hard to find love. Look at a man and think “could he be the one?” Instead of God just leading us together. Also seeking God first. Than I get scared of turning to my old ways so I just neglect or scared of something that could be great. 
First: I need to be right with God. In any relationship I am in or going to be in He needs to come first. So that’s why I pray when I start having feelings. God needs to have a place in all this “romance” that is going on. 
Second: he needs to be right with God. I shouldn’t be considering any man unless he has Christ in his life. In fact, he needs to love God more than me. If we are not equal in that than it wouldn’t work. Also I fall short on God when I become interest in a man who isn’t right with Him. He would leave me to sin. Not only me but, I would be in sin than lead him to sin.
Third: there needs to be a commitment. Before going into the relationship I need to know what are his intentions. As a women of God I am looking for a life pattern not just a guy to comfort me. 
Fourth: I want that “spark”. Just like the man and women in The Song of Solomon there needs to be that desire. That longing for each other. The “I want no one else but you!” – emotionally and physically. 
This book doesn’t get the reap that it should. It needs to be read more for everyone one. Relationship or Single. It’s in the bible for a reason. Nothing is meaningless in the bible 

Leave a Reply

